Eurogas-CEEC-banner-1200x400-tempEurogas-CEEC-banner-600x500-mobile-temp Conference


This page is in the process of being updated.

Panel 1: Well-functioning and innovative gas market

Megan Richards

Director, DG ENER, European Commission

Since 1 April 2017, Megan Richards is Director of Energy Policy in DG Energy (ENER) of the European Commission. Prior to joining the European Commission in 1991, Megan Richards worked for the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) in Africa, the Inter-American Development Bank in Washington, the government of Canada, and private law firms. Within the European Commission, she focused on programmes to support SMEs, research and innovation. She also worked at the Commission’s Joint Research Centre and DG CONNECT, were she held various senior management positions.

From 2013-2014, she was EU Fellow at the Weatherhead Center for International Affairs at Harvard University. She holds a bachelor of science, a bachelor of laws and a master of public administration degrees.

Dimitris Tzortzis

CEO, DEPA, Greece

Since November 2017, Mr Tzortzis is the CEO of the Greek Gas Corporation (DEPA).

His professional experience includes top managerial posts in both the private and public sectors (with particular focus on network and telecoms infrastructure in leading international companies) and as Secretary General of the Greek Ministry of Infrastructure, Transport and Networks.

He holds a BSc & MSc in Electrical Engineering and Information Technology from the National Technical University of Athens.

Panel 2: The decarbonisation of heat

Julian Popov

Chair of the Buildings Performance Institute Europe (BPIE) / Fellow of the European Climate Foundation

Julian Popov is Chairman of the Building Performance Institute Europe, Fellow of the European Climate Foundation and Bulgarian Ambassador of good will for energy and climate policy.

His past professional experience includes political positions such as being former Minister of Environment of Bulgaria and energy security adviser to the President of Bulgaria. He also held various senior positions in the academic sector.

He is frequently published by Bulgarian and international media and is a frequent guest at national radio and television programmes with comments on energy and climate policies, energy security and European affairs.

Federica Sabbati

Secretary General, European Heating Industry Association (EHI)

Federica Sabbati is Secretary General of the European Heating Industry, which brings together companies that are leaders in the production of efficient heating systems.

She has been working in an international political and business environment, in Brussels and London. Her previous responsibilities include being secretary general of the Liberal International and of the European Liberal Democrat and Reform party (now ALDE) as well as dealing with public affairs for the Coca-Cola Company Europe.

She holds a university degree in International Relations from the University of Trieste (Gorizia base), Italy, and a master’s Degree in Russian and Post-Soviet Studies from the London School of Economics and Political Science.

Michael Woltran

Vice President Gas Innovation & Advocacy, OMV Gas & Power

Michael Woltran joined OMV Group in 1999, having previously worked in sales, marketing and controlling. Since then, he held various top management positions at OMV Gas, dealing with the issues of transmission and storage, gas logistics and finance. Michael Woltran has recently took a new role as Vice President for Gas Innovation and Advocacy at OMV Gas & Power.

He graduated from the Höhere Technische Bundeslehr- und Versuchsanstalt für chemische Industrie and studied business administration at the Vienna University of Economic and Business.